stay awhile

image

Love (III), by George Herbert
HT: Dr. Eric Johnson

Love bade me welcome: yet my soul drew back,
Guilty of dust and sin.
But quick-eyed Love, observing me grow slack
From my first entrance in,
Drew nearer to me, sweetly questioning
If I lacked anything.

“A guest,” I answered, “worthy to be here”:
Love said, “You shall be he.”
“I, the unkind, ungrateful? Ah, my dear,
I cannot look on thee.”
Love took my hand, and smiling did reply,
“Who made the eyes but I?”

“Truth, Lord; but I have marred them; let my shame
Go where it doth deserve.”
“And know you not,” says Love, “who bore the blame?”
“My dear, then I will serve.”
“You must sit down,” says Love, “and taste my meat.”
So I did sit and eat.

_________________________________________________________

The law buckles our knees, but we find the seat of Christ pulled up beneath us. We praise the Holy One, that man Jesus Christ, who knelt down into his Father’s will. He became below us, so that we might rest upon the back of his sacrificial love. You are welcome at God’s table, because you recline in the righteouness of his Son. You are free to sit & stay awhile.

Hear & remember that “Christ died for you, and feed on him in your hearts by faith, with thanksgiving.” We remember you Lord. Our peace and hope is in you.

John 6:1-11, Luke 10:38-42

Leave a comment