Questions of progress don’t speak as loud as my heart.

“I know your works, your toil and your patient endurance, and how you cannot bear with those who are evil, but have tested those who call themselves apostles and are not, and found them to be false. I know you are enduring patiently and bearing up for my name’s sake, and you have not grown weary. But I have this against you, that you have abandoned the love you had at first. Remember therefore from where you have fallen; repent, and do the works you did at first” (Rev 2:2-5).

What if we have abandoned the love we had at first because we’ve forgotten the news that “he first loved us?” Is it possible that the works we did at first arise from the belief that Jesus’ works are all we need? What if keeping with repentance is simply going back to the start again and again?

John 6:28-29

4 thoughts on “Questions of progress don’t speak as loud as my heart.

  1. Good words. So powerfully simple. Rest in what has been done for me. It reminds me of a quote I think Tullian says. “The gospel is not the A, B, C’s of Christianity, it’s the A to Z of Christianity”. But how often do I TRY to move “beyond” the gospel and end up curved in on myself?
    Rev 2:2-5 + Willie Nelson singing Colplay + Chipotle = Powerful gospel illustration.
    Who’d have thought?

  2. I’ve been thinking about what you said – a lot! If faith without works is dead then works without the special love relationship with Jesus is just that – works. I am surprised that He said they have not grown weary. It is exhausting to me. Comparing that to the rest and peace that come from trusting in His work just confounds me.. again. I know how easy it is to get distracted from the basic Gospel truth. I have been a Christian for a very long time but didn’t even begin to grasp the true love and the GRACE until recently. Thanks for the post. It is a good reminder 🙂

  3. I love the tie-in of the idea with this video! It begs the question – where do we draw the idea of progressive sanctification? If we believe in the power of the cross to save us utterly, then we must divorce ALL connection between our behavior and our standing with God. Romans 5 would say that we learn to interpret our sufferings in the light of grace, which isn’t exactly the traditional view of sanctification. 2 Peter 1:2-7 doesn’t really spell this story either. Progressive sanctification in fact implies that there is a standard against which we can judge our “Christian-ness”, and maybe that just really isn’t the case at all. Maybe the only thing our “Christian-ness” can be measured against is Christ and Him crucified. So, all measuring is done with in Christ, and we walk by the Spirit and not by the craving of the flesh for measuring merit.

Leave a Reply

