Free Indeed

“Abraham Lincoln went to a slave market. There he noted a young, beautiful African-American woman being auctioned off to the highest offer. He bid on her and won. He could see the anger in the young woman’s eyes and could imagine what she was thinking, Another white man who will buy me, use me, and discard me.

As Lincoln walked off with his ‘property,’ he turned to the woman and said, ‘You’re free.’
‘Yeah. What does that mean?’ she replied.
‘It means that you’re free.’
‘Does that mean I can say whatever I want to say?’
‘Yes,’ replied Lincoln smiling, ‘it means you can say whatever you want to say.’
‘Does it mean,’ she asked incredulously, ‘that I can be whatever I want to be?’
‘Yes, you can be whatever you want to be.’
‘Does it mean,’ the young woman said hesitantly, ‘that I can go wherever I want to go?’
‘Yes, it means you are free and can go wherever you want to go.’
‘Then,’ said the young woman with tears welling up in her eyes, ‘I think I’ll go with you.'”

Steve Brown, Scandalous Freedom, pages 12-13.

Do you follow Jesus because you fear His temper or because you’ve felt His kindness? Is it possible that we tend to live more like we’re under God’s employment than His grace?

Do you obey your heavenly Father because you feel obligated or because He’s the best? Is it possible that Christians are free to walk with Jesus and free to wander from Him?

John 8:34-36, Rom 2:4, Rom 6:14

Leave a Reply

